Cooperation or Competition: the Makeathon Development Competition

Being there when solutions are created

At a Makeathon, the development process of software and hardware hacks can be experienced at close range. The collaborative competition scores with participants and spectators right from the start. A success format that appeals to new target groups and strengthens their position as innovation drivers.

Makeathons are innovative events where young professionals rise to the challenge of creating functional solutions for their industries—under real-life conditions and in just 24 hours. The participants are competing teams, recruited, among others, from young software developers, mechanics, mechatronics engineers, designers and business developers. The audience consists of industry representatives who are there to meet the innovators of tomorrow.

What are the Goals of Makeathons?

  • Industry 4.0—Innovation Driver in the Industry
  • Experiencing IT2I—Visualization of Content
  • Recruiting 4.0—Hackathon
  • Young Talent—Young Professionals & Apprentices
  • Skilled Labor Shortage—Female Shift Trend

Goals of Makeathons

What is a Makeathon?

A hackathon (portmanteau of the words "hack" and "marathon") is a collaborative software and hardware design event. The goal is to produce software products within the timespan of this event. (Wikipedia)

Makeathon is the evolution of a hackathon; in the “Maker Community” however, it also involves the use of hardware.

Your contact

Dr. Susanne Goehl

Susanne Goehl

Head of Business Development

Gegeneinander – miteinander: der Entwicklungs­wettbewerb Makeathon

Dabei sein, wenn Lösungen entstehen

Beim Makeathon lässt sich der Entwicklungsprozess von Software- und Hardware-Hacks hautnah miterleben. Der kollaborative Wettbewerb hat von Beginn an bei den Teilnehmern und Zuschauern gepunktet. Es ist ein Erfolgsformat, das neue Zielgruppen anspricht und dadurch die Position der Veranstaltung als Innovationstreiber festigt.

Beim Makeathon stellen sich Nachwuchskräfte der Herausforderung, funktionierende Lösungen für ihre Industrien zu erarbeiten – unter Real-Life-Bedingungen und in nur 24 Stunden. Die Teilnehmer sind konkurrierende Teams, die sich unter anderem aus jungen Software-Entwicklern, Mechanikern, Mechatronikern, Designern und Business Developern zusammensetzen. Ihr Publikum sind Vertreter der jeweiligen Industrie, die hier die Innovatoren von morgen kennenlernen.

Was sind die Ziele des Makeathons?

  • Industrie 4.0 – Innovationstreiber in der Branche
  • IT in der Industrie erlebbar machen – Visualisierung der Inhalte
  • Recruiting 4.0 – Hackathon
  • Nachwuchsförderung – „Young Professionals“ & Azubis
  • Fachkräftemangel – Trend „Female Shift“

Ziele des Makeathon

Was ist ein Makeathon?

Ein Hackathon (Wortschöpfung aus „hack“ und „marathon“) ist eine kollaborative Software- und Hardwareentwicklungsveranstaltung. Ziel ist es, innerhalb der Dauer dieser Veranstaltung Softwareprodukte herzustellen.

Ein Makeathon ist die Weiterentwicklung eines Hackathons, allerdings in der „Maker Community“ mit Nutzung von Hardware.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Dr. Susanne Goehl

Susanne Goehl

Teamleitung Business Development